Search
Norfolk Tourism Awards

Okilly Dokilly review: a decent, heavy band who deserve to be judged by the merit of their music

PUBLISHED: 10:43 04 October 2018

Okilly Dokilly headlining The Waterfront in Norwich on 3rd October 2018. Photo: Paul Jones

Okilly Dokilly headlining The Waterfront in Norwich on 3rd October 2018. Photo: Paul Jones

Paul Jones

Okilly Dokilly, with support from local band’s Bastard and Crawl Blind, gave The Waterfront a good kick in the kididdlehopper last night at their headline show.

Lowestoft based band Crawl Blind supporting Okilly Dokilly at The Waterfront in Norwich on 3rd October 2018. Photo: Paul JonesLowestoft based band Crawl Blind supporting Okilly Dokilly at The Waterfront in Norwich on 3rd October 2018. Photo: Paul Jones

The worlds finest Ned Flanders themed band caused a hubbub tonight by saying ‘hi-dilly-ho, neighborinos‘ to Norwich, all donned with impressive face soup strainers, green jumpers and Christian underpants.

The Phoenix, USA based metalcore band gave everybody’s noggin a floggin in their first visit to the city with an impressive set. The big crowd were in a tizzy and seemed to love every darn, doodly minute.

I could go on, and it would be easy and very enjoyable to crowbar as many Ned Flanders puns and catchphrases into this review. But for now I’ll say Okilly Dokilly are a decent, and heavy band and deserve to be judged by the merit of their music.

Norwich hardcore-punk band Bastard supporting Okilly Dokilly at The Waterfront in Norwich on 3rd October 2018. Photo: Paul JonesNorwich hardcore-punk band Bastard supporting Okilly Dokilly at The Waterfront in Norwich on 3rd October 2018. Photo: Paul Jones

They play tight and they put on an enjoyable head banging show. Plus they’re fun to watch with some great between song, banter.

The question is; how many people will tell their friends and family about the gig tonight without mentioning Ned Flanders? Probably none of them, because that’s their gimmick. They are a self-described ‘nedal’ band and welcome the endless puns in their reviews. Even their song titles are mainly based around Ned’s sayings. And to be honest, as a photographer I was mainly there tonight because I hoped they would give me some great shots.

First support came from Norwich hardcore-punk band Bastard. They flayed the crowd from the start with some heavy riffs and shouty vocals. With two guitarists’ and a bassist they sounded big and the lead vocalist was clear. In fact, they are the band I enjoyed most this evening.

Okilly Dokilly headlining The Waterfront in Norwich on 3rd October 2018. Photo: Paul JonesOkilly Dokilly headlining The Waterfront in Norwich on 3rd October 2018. Photo: Paul Jones

Second support were the impressive Lowestoft band Crawl Blind who went one up on Bastard with two guitarists, a bassist and a DJ, alongside the drummer and vocalist. Again, they were aggressive but played tight and were musically excellent.

Once again this fantastic venue put on an excellent mid-week event. Okilly Dokilly are a band I will ding-dong-diddily remember for sure. In fact, get out the left handed Crayolas and colour me “Tickled Pink”. Toodily-Doo.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Latest from the EDP

Show Job Lists

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 14°C

min temp: 4°C

Listen to the latest weather forecast