Royal Arcade a Norwich landmark
PUBLISHED: 16:49 15 August 2017 | UPDATED: 17:22 15 August 2017
Originally built in 1899, the Royal Arcade in Norwich has become a landmark with visitors and locals after a unique shopping experience.
Today the Arcade is home to some of the city’s finest independent boutiques while also boasting an array of eateries.
It is also home to jewellery stores, a children’s shoe shop, an art gallery and Norwich’s Heritage Coleman’s Mustard Museum offering mustard history and memorabilia.
The Arcade was built to a design by well-known Norwich architect George Skipper and incorporated tiles and stained glass peacocks, trees, flowers and women.
Arcade shopping was very much in vogue at the time and it brought fashionable, exotic and continentally influenced architecture of Art Nouveau to the city.
The Arcade originally had 24 shops, the Arcade Stores pub and the Conservative Club. From 1986 to 1991 it underwent restoration work which included the floor being replaced and new lighting added.