A-Z of Norfolk nostalgia: A history of Acle in pictures
PUBLISHED: 14:42 19 April 2017 | UPDATED: 17:23 31 July 2017
Take a trip down memory lane with our A-Z of Norfolk and Suffolk’s towns and villages. Starting at A, we take a brief look at the history of Acle.
It’s hard to believe, but back in the dim reaches of time Acle was a busy coastal fishing village. Between Acle and what is now Great Yarmouth was nothing more than a vast expanse of water.
A bridge at Acle was first established in 1101. Prior to being rebuilt in 1931 and again in 1997, it comprised of three stone arches, supported by two piers on oak piles. The bridge remains one of the Broads’ iconic sights and a hugely popular destination for families and tourists, boaters and day trippers.
By the 12th century the village had a manor, ownership passed from the Crown to the Earl of Norfolk and subsequently Lord Calthorpe, the Lord of the Manor. It wasn’t until more modern times that the land was spilt up.
The growth of the area was spurred on with the permission to open a market, central to which was livestock trading, followed by the Acle Straight opening which improved trade routes.