Opinion

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Mike Rix of Savills Norwich residential team homes in on the village of Trowse and the importance of ‘location’

Monday, February 19, 2018

Howard Bailey, of Spire solicitors, discusses using bitcoins for buying and selling properties.

Monday, February 19, 2018

Kate Mamo-Lewis and Samantha Withers of Attik Property Services talk about the emotional difficulty of letting go of your possessions, or clearing the house of a loved one.

Friday, February 16, 2018

Have you joined the self-build revolution?

Friday, February 16, 2018

Joe Pattinson, from Newbury New Homes, asks whether greedy developers will be penalised?

Friday, February 9, 2018

April 6 last year marked the introduction of the profound changes to the taxation of buy-to-let investments, leaving landlords scrambling around trying to protect themselves from higher tax bills due to the reduced deductibility of mortgage interest.

Friday, February 9, 2018

Coming down the pike (yet another) new law seemingly to further bash already well beaten up landlords. Recently, the bill to allow tenants to sue their landlords where their home is not fit for purpose was debated in Parliament and passed with flying colours by MPs across all political divides. It is expected the resultant law will be up and running by the end of this year.

Friday, February 2, 2018

The Norfolk Broads is one of the biggest attractions for people wanting to move to the county, says Sheron Harley, from the Property Shop.

Friday, February 2, 2018

In years gone by, the start of the year was traditionally when estate agents could ease slowly back into work after the Christmas break, safe in the knowledge that most people would leave it until the first green shoots of spring before thinking about putting their house on the market, or starting to look for their next dream home.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

With the recent reshuffle in the government concerning housing, how could this affect the rental industry? Mike White, from Martin & Co, discusses.

Monday, January 22, 2018

Choosing the right conveyancer is part of prearing to buy and sell a home, says Julie Crowder-Barr, from Spire solicitors

Monday, January 22, 2018

Louis de Soissons, head of Savills’ Norwich residential team, offers some tips on selling in winter

Friday, January 19, 2018

Buy now as house prices will rise, advises Keith Hood of Warners Financial Services

Friday, January 19, 2018

Moving into a new home could drastically reduce your energy bills, says Alison Page from David Wilson Homes.

Monday, January 15, 2018

A common area of confusion among property owners is the distinction between legal and beneficial ownership and the corresponding tax treatment of each.

Monday, January 15, 2018

2018 is a great year to buy a new property, says Edward Parker from Bennett Homes

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Joe Pattinson, Newbury New Homes, discusses the real cost of stamp duty

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Well as it’s almost time for the dreaded staff Christmas outing. I’ve warned my family and my liver to expect the worse, says Keith Hood, of Warners Financial Services.

Monday, December 18, 2017

Why do we put up with such an archaic house buying and selling system, asks Andrew Pointen, of Pointens.

Friday, December 15, 2017

If you are thinking of purchasing your first home or moving house, it is important to understand all of the costs involved before you start house-hunting. Your solicitor will handle the legal work around the property, however, there are some extra costs involved within the conveyancing process. When planning your budget we would advise you to consider:

Friday, December 15, 2017

There are many elements to a self-build project to take into account, and overlooking any of them could cost you time and precious funds. Most of us only think of the obvious of design, build and construction, but there are also a few more unusual responsibilities that you need to be aware of, from site access to drinking water.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Whichever way round it is, I generally try to avoid watching this genre of TV programme for the simple reason that I work long hours anyway and this would be like taking work home with me. But the other day, in a weak moment, I found myself watching one about the older couple who, needing to supplement their pensions, bought an eight-bedroom HMO (House in Multiple Occupation) in a generally high-yielding rental town (aka economically challenged).

Friday, December 1, 2017

The chancellor’s autumn budget delivered on November 22 focused very much on boosting the UK’s productivity and building greater self-sufficiency given the UK’s impending exit from the EU, states Jon Hook, from Norwich Accountancy Services.

Monday, November 13, 2017

Can Sajid Javid make the home buying process ‘cheaper, faster and less stressful’? Andrew Pointen, from Pointens, discusses.

Friday, November 10, 2017

Tax dodging and mortgages may be two separate issues but Keith Hood, a financial advisor at Warners Financial Services, discusses both topics.

Friday, November 10, 2017

Mike White, of Martin & Co in Norwich, discusses the very latest government proposals which could hit landlords again.

Friday, November 10, 2017

When booking a hotel, would you go if it wasn’t five star? Alison Page, from David Wilson Homes, discusses the importance of star ratings.

Monday, November 6, 2017

A common area of confusion among property owners is the distinction between legal and beneficial ownership, says tax expert Jon Hook, from Norwich Accountancy Services.

Friday, November 3, 2017

Are we being left behind by the Usain Bolt of new build targets? Joe Pattinson, of Newbury New Homes, discusses.

Friday, October 27, 2017

Two estate agents give their opinion on when a seller should agree to a price reduction, if at all?

Friday, October 20, 2017

New figures just released calculate how much a house is worth per square metre depending on where you live, as Joe Pattinson, from Newbury New Homes discusses.

Monday, October 16, 2017

Technology is moving at such a fast rate, financial advisor Keith Hood wonders if he is going to be replaced by a robot...

Monday, October 16, 2017

Rent controls will have sent a shudder through every private landlord in the country...but what else is looming? Mike White, from Martin & Co, discusses.

Friday, October 13, 2017

An Englishman’s home is his castle but that ‘castle’ is getting more and more out of reach for many, says Joe Pattinson, from Newbury New Homes.

Friday, October 13, 2017

If you think you can’t open a window in a passivhaus or that it’s too difficult to design, think again! Ron Beattie of Beattie Passive tells us more.

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

The long held belief that properties always go up in value and the government will encourage you via the tax system no longer seems to be true, discusses Jon Hook, from Norwich Accountancy Services.

Friday, October 6, 2017

Put your property on the market now and enjoy an ‘historic lack of competition’ says Andrew Pointen, of Pointens.

Monday, October 2, 2017

Norwich was recently called the ‘new Notting Hill’ but we all knew that already, didn’t we, asks Joe Pattinson from Newbury New Homes.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Joe Pattinson from Newbury New Homes talks about the financial aid available when purchasing a home and what’s included in the price.

Thursday, August 31, 2017

You can finance a self build with the help of a custom build mortgage - but you need to ensure you meet some strict criteria when applying, advises Ron Beattie, of Beattie Passive.

Friday, August 11, 2017

As Neymar goes to PSG “looking for a new challenge” (how to spend £200m), I recall it was 1979 when Trevor Francis was sold to Nottingham Forest as the first £1m player.

Monday, August 8, 2016

Our elder son, when two years old, once tried to feed our mortgage money to the cows.

Re those who would sacrifice Norfolk’s precious character for spurious short-term gains.

Thursday, May 26, 2016

Regarding your article on the proposed technology corridor between Norwich and Cambridge.

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Several weeks ago, I found myself chatting to a lady from Sheffield, who had lived in Norwich for more than 20 years. Over the course of the conversation, I asked her if she spent much time there now. “Oh yes,” came the response. “I go home quite often, actually.”

Meet the Editor

Caroline Culot

Email
Twitter

I am the property editor in charge of delivering some exciting and informative content within Archant’s varied titles. We have 16-17 pages of stories, features and columns in the EDP Property supplement out every Friday free in your EDP so please don’t miss it.

Most Read