Fledgling businesses in Breckland are being given the chance to thrive with free help and advice offered over the next 10 months.

To send a link to this page to a friend, you must be logged in.

Breckland Council and the Norfolk and Waveney Enterprise Services (NWES) have teamed up to provide business support activities across the market towns of Attleborough, Dereham, Swaffham, Thetford and Watton.

Guidance on starting a business, developing key ideas in a series of workshops, weekly advice surgeries, and mentoring are all available as part of the Enterprise Norfolk business support programme.

The first in the series of events was held in Watton, and centred on business awareness for those thinking about starting a business or in the early stages of growing one.

The awareness session, which will be repeated in the other towns, featured advise from a solicitor, an accountant and an NWES Adviser, as well as a presentation on tips to consider when starting a business and a chance to network

When and where events:

January 31 Starting a Business Awareness Event - Watton

Monday 25 February Business Introduction Workshop - Watton

Thursday 28 February Starting a Business Awareness Event - Dereham

Wednesday 27 March Starting a Business Awareness Event - Attleborough

Thursday 28 March Business Introduction Workshop - Dereham

Friday 5 April Planning and Developing your Business day 1 - -Dereham

Thursday 11 April Starting a Business Awareness Event - Thetford

Friday 12 April Planning and Developing your Business day 2 - Dereham

Friday 19 April Planning and Developing your Business day 3 - Dereham

Friday 26 April Planning and Developing your Business day 4 - Dereham

Thursday 9 May Starting a Business Awareness Event - Swaffham

Wednesday 15 May Business Introduction Workshop - Thetford

Monday 3 June Planning and Developing your Business day 1 - Thetford

Wednesday 5 June Planning and Developing your Business day 2 - Thetford

Monday 10 June Planning and Developing your Business day 3 - Thetford

Tuesday 11 June Business Introduction Workshop - Swaffham

Wednesday 12 June Planning and Developing your Business day 4- Thetford

Tuesday 10 September Business Introduction Workshop - Thetford

Tuesday 1 October Planning and Developing your Business day 1 - Thetford

Thursday 3 October Planning and Developing your Business day 2 Thetford

Tuesday 8 October Planning and Developing your Business day 3 - Thetford

Thursday 10 October Planning and Developing your Business day 4 - Thetford

Thursday 17 October Business Introduction Workshop - Attleborough

Mark Bunning from Watton started his own photography business 15 months ago and said the awareness event at Wayland House in Watton gave him a strong idea of what is needed for a business to continue to grow.

He said: “I wanted to see what support was available and also to learn about other areas of business like social media and the opportunities for mentoring.

“I wanted to come to an event like this to see what I can learn, and also to see what I have been doing wrong.”

Deputy leader of Breckland Council Michael Wassell said the programme will give businesses an opportunity to grow, and in turn help Breckland to get out of the economic recession.

Richard Voisey, NWES business adviser working in Breckland said: “We are able to provide tips on topics such as marketing, increasing profit and how best to access finance.

“The experience on hand means that we can provide experienced insight on so many business issues.”

2 comments

  • A typical Breckland Council initiative - putting potentially interested parties in touch with existing service providers. An act of facilitation falsely presenting an impression that the council has made a useful contribution in its own right.

    Report this comment

    Mr Cameron Isaliar

    Wednesday, February 6, 2013

  • Gosh, you neglected to mention that the Enterprise Norfolk business support programme is actually funded by NCC, so bu66er all to do with Breckland.

    Report this comment

    Mr Cameron Isaliar

    Wednesday, February 6, 2013

The views expressed in the above comments do not necessarily reflect the views of this site

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

Most read business stories

Father and son Max and Nick Applin, directors of Applin & Co.

Norwich father and son’s business goes from strength to strength

A father and son who joined forces to set up their own business are hoping to push the boundaries as their company goes from strength to strength.

Read full story »

loading...

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT